You are here : Home > News > Top News

Shaw Prize 2018 Ceremony held in Hong Kong

2018-09-28 13:37:00

On September 26, the Shaw Prize 2018 ceremony was held at the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre to present three annual awards: Astronomy, Life Science and Medicine, and Mathematical Sciences, each bearing a monetary award of US$1.2 million. Carrie Lam Cheng Yuet-ngor, the Chief Executive of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, attended the ceremony and served as the officiating guest.

The Shaw Prize in Astronomy was awarded to Jean-Loup Puget, Researcher at Institut d'Astrophysique Spatiale (IAS) of CNRS and the University of Paris-Sud 11, France, for his contributions to astronomy in the infrared to sub-millimeter spectral range.

The Shaw Prize in Life Science and Medicine was awarded to Mary-Claire King, American Cancer Society Professor, at Department of Medicine and Genome Sciences, University of Washington, for being the first to discover and map the breast cancer gene.

The Shaw Prize in Mathematical Scienceswas awarded to Luis A Caffarelli, Professor of Mathematics at University of Texas at Austin, for his groundbreaking work on partial differential equations.

The Shaw Prize is an international award established by Mr Run Run Shaw in November 2002, to honor individuals who had made outstanding contributions to academic and scientific research or applications. 2018 marked the fifteenth year the Prize was awarded.

Copyright © 2015 Ministry of Education of the People's Republic of China. All Rights Reserved.